Mom and Dads update

A week ago I posted that we were heading down to mom and dads. Good times as usual. Here’s the run down, and the typical visit.

Sat. Morning woke up, hit the patio with pops, a pitcher of coffee, and half a pack of smokes to watch the sun rise over the lake, and swap stories. His are generally along the lines of how great his retirement is, some bushes he needs to get the landscaper to move so he can perfect his view from the patio (an endless quest), or the fresh tomato’s he got from the farmers market while he was killing time away from the house so mom could have her friends over for the weekly bridge tournament. I’m really not sure which my mom likes more, bridge, or getting my dad out of the house for a few hours each week. My dads been retired for 2 or 3 years now, I don’t think I’ve seen him since without him telling me “ya know, this retirement shit is really pretty cool, I can’t wait till you get to experience this. “me either”, I’ll tell him. My stories are usually centered around how busy I am with work, all the bills I have to pay, and what the kids are up to. He remembers it all too well, and quietly grins and listens. Sometimes he’ll give me a couple tips, but generally not. I think he gets a kick out of watching me grow up, and find my own way, there was a time in my youth when I think he doubted I ever would. We usually get a couple of hours to talk before the house starts to come alive, and join us on the patio.

I’m not sure if it’s all women or just the ones in my life, but they’re all about planning. All I know is what was just a casual conversation now turns to more of an agenda meeting along the lines of who’s going shopping, when, and what’s on sale. When are we eating lunch, what are we having, where’s the rest of the family, has any called them, etc.. Mom rolls breakfast out on a cart to the patio. She bought a new table cloth for the patio table, “I’m going to sew a hem in it, I just haven’t yet, sorry about that” she says. “uhm…..well, I guess I’ll eat on it anyway” I tell her. She has to get the food laid out just right on the cart before anyone can make a plate. Breakfast taco’s in whole wheat tortillas, bacon, sausage, biscuits, strawberries, grapes, and some kind of orange juice slushy she always makes with maraschino cherry’s.

momfixingbreakfast.JPG

Soon after the grub, and with a growing agenda my dad and I usually make scarce. He takes his lab to go get a cake donut every morning like clockwork. I decided to head out for some fishing. I like the back corner of the lake cause the bass seem to like to hang there. “Get a life jacket” mom says, I roll my eyes grab my coffee cup and copenhagen (must have when fishing)

boat.JPG

It’s been a while since I’ve been fishing so it wasn’t long till backlashed the hell out of my dads curado and had to put the reel down and pick up the camera.

logsticks.JPG

turtles like to hang on these logs. Lately seems the turtles have taken over. There’s not as many fish as there were.

turtle.JPG

Clouds rolled in momentarily so I went back to the house to fix the reel and see what the agenda had brought.

skyenhanced.jpg

As mentioned in the previous post, I live on the other side of town. Generally when I come down, my sisters who live a couple minutes from mom and dad in either direction, grab their families and meet us there. By the time I got back to the house they were ready for volleyball.

Me, my daughter, and my niece vs. my lil sis, my bro in law, and my nephew. My parents have a strange pool with sand on the bottom. It looks like it needs to be cleaned, but that’s just the sand.

volleyfull1enhanced.jpg

My lil sister wasn’t pleased with my score keeping.

rosebudwhineenhanced.jpg

Dad tried to officiate without getting up from his chair

dadcheerenhanced.jpg

lil sis still not pleased

rosebudwhineenhanced.jpg

Mom decides to handle it

momscoreenhanced.jpg

All in all it was a bad weekend for count sports. UT lost to OU, My highschool football team lost to our bitter rivals (sohos school), and my volleyball team lost in a close 5 game set. I took it out on my daughter, dunking her until she promised not to serve the ball into the net ever again.

ninadunk.JPG

My 15 year old niece quietly made her way to the other side of the pool away from the dunking.

em.JPG

Just to be clear on this, That’s not a bald spot, it’s a strange reflection.

baldspot.JPG

Then it was back to the lake, to slay bass.

slay.jpg

Good times, heading back down there now. Have a great weekend.

11 thoughts on “Mom and Dads update

  1. sohos says:

    This first part of your post conjures up the old Cat Stevens ( Yusuf Islam) song Cats in the cradle. That was a great weekend. Great pictures ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Enjoy it. Somethimes parents are gone quicker than your kids grow up.

  3. supergurl says:

    sweet pics. that pool is awesome.

    seen any articles on Texas’ seven felons? I’m thinking no way we can survive this year. Be lucky to get through the season without someone ending up on death row. Love my horns and all, but that’s the troof.

  4. My God that sounds like a hell of a good time! But could you slow down on the blog entries? I’m trying to catch up with everyone ๐Ÿ˜› And your parents sound like great people, and what a beautiful pool!

  5. dick says:

    Great description and pictures. Glad you guys were able to relax and enjoy it.

  6. What an incredible weekend!! I can’t wait to come down and for you and SoHoS to take me there ๐Ÿ˜€ hehe. I’m glad y’all had such a wonderful weekend. After the month you’ve had, y’all needed it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. fyremandoug says:

    How was the fishing?????

  8. Count says:

    brutal. Caught a donut but this kid was out there and caught this big hell fish, i’ve never seen. I’ll upload the pics.

  9. aprilwine says:

    Looks like good times. Great pics!!

  10. Eric says:

    ….and how are they now?……. and how are you and your missus?……

  11. Jerri says:

    I don’t think you’ll get this……..I’ll send you an email, anyway. How wonderful to look at these pictures of your family, and especially your dad. It’s so beautiful there, and I know it’s not the same without him. Just wanted to send you a hug after I read this again. oxo

Leave a Reply

