The little chairs are getting bigger

Anyone know where the summer went? To say that time continually speeds up with age is an understatement. Seems like it was yesterday I was giving the yearly spring break speech to the kids. “Look, I know you’re ready for the summer, and it’s almost here, but don’t slack off these last few weeks of school. Suck it up, buckle down, make me proud, then we’ll have all summer to goof off”. Then I blinked, now we’re in panic mode again shuffling around town trying to find the “right” backpacks, notebooks, etc..

This years different for two of counts children as they enter Junior High and all that it entails. Numerous teachers and classes, lockers, big schools, tardy bells, study halls, D-halls. I tell my kids it’s that time in their life when their teachers take off their gloves, stop being baby sitters, and best friends, and start pounding them into shape with unrelenting lesson plans, homework, and projects that will no longer consist of crayons, yarn, or Popsicle sticks. Recess, has gone away to live on that farm with your favorite dog you thought was coming back. Gone are the days of having your own desks filled with half eaten, week old twenkies, and “love notes” made of paper corners torn off, scribbled on, and passed around class. Time to learn how to fold them fancy, “ask your mom”.

This week two of our kids toured the school, to find their classes. I sat them down and told them to make sure to count the doors between their classes and not to just goof around checking things out, but to pay attention. I remember getting lost the first few days of Junior High. It’s such a waste of the limited number of tardy’s each kid is freely allowed. I stressed the importance of deep sixing a couple tardy’s for those important things like carrying a chicks books to class, and or breaking up with a chick, cause sometimes, at that age, it takes more than five minutes (in junior high, love is a battlefield).

The kids are excited. To be honest, Counts excited too. I’m excited for a different reason. For the past 6 years, every graduation I have been to (they have them yearly now in case you didn’t know), and every teachers meeting I’ve had to attend, I’m always stuck in some little person chair, trying to carry on a conversation with a grown adult teacher, that is sitting in the only adult chair the room has to offer. It’s awkwardly condescending. I look forward to sitting in regular sized chairs for all future meetings, and graduations.

Here’s a pic of me and SoHoS at one of our kids graduations sitting in little people chairs at a little person table. It was a room full of adults trying to just play it off like it wasn’t something awkward.

countsohosgraduation5.jpg

3 thoughts on “The little chairs are getting bigger

  1. sohos says:

    Daddy you really know how to tear at my heartstrings.

  2. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to
    your webpage? My blog site is in the exact same area of interest
    as yours and my users would definitely benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Thank you!

  3. What’s up, constantly i used to check weblog posts here in the early hours in the morning, as i like to learn more and more.

Leave a Reply

